Also in this Issue

APA Welcomes the Joint Committee on Educational Evaluation (JCSEE) and the International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

The JCSEE has received funding from the National Science Foundation to host a national conference on benchmarking student evaluation practices.

By Frank C. Worrell, PhD

The 2008 meeting of the JCSEE was held September 25 – 27 at APA headquarters in Washington, D.C. The JCSEE is a coalition of several professional organizations, including the APA, with an interest in educational evaluation. Currently, the group has three sets of program evaluation standards: Program Evaluation Standards (2nd. ed., 1994), Personnel Evaluation Standards (2nd. ed., 2008), and Student Evaluation Standards (2003). The Program Evaluation Standards are currently being revised and the revision committee is being chaired by Dr. Donald B. Yarbrough.

At the 2008 meeting, several activities took place:

  1. The second edition of the Personnel Evaluation Standards was disseminated.

  2. The standards statements for the third edition of the Program Evaluation Standards were reviewed and accepted.

  3. The decision to revise the Student Evaluation Standards was approved and a call is out for a program chair for the revision committee.

  4. Dr. Donald B. Yarbrough was voted in as Chair-Elect of the JCSEE. He will be working with past chair, Dr. Arlen Gullickson over the next few months to effect a smooth transition.

The JCSEE has received funding from the National Science Foundation to host a national conference on benchmarking student evaluation practices. This invitation-only event will include both in-service teachers and their university partners. It is scheduled to take place February 23 – 24, 2009 in Alexandria, Virginia.

More information on the JCSEE can be found on the Joint Committe on Standards for Educational Evaluation website.

APA Hosts the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Committee on Psychological Testing in Industry
by Kurt Geisinger, American Educational Research Association (AERA), APA, and National Council on Measurement in Education (NCME) Representative to the ISO

The International Organization for Standardization's Committee on Psychological Testing in Industry (ISO 230) met October 9-10, 2008 at APA headquarters in Washington, DC. This group is charged with the development of an international standard for testing and assessment in employment settings. Dr. Lutz Hornke of Germany chairs this international group that consists of representatives from Austria, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Japan, Kenya, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The United States delegation includes Dr. G Harris (Association of Test Publishers, Chair), Dr. Wayne Camara (College Board), Dr. Kurt Geisinger (AERA, APA, and NCME), Dr. James Sampson (University of Florida, National Board of Certified Counselors), and Dr. Nancy Tippins (SIOP, APA Div. 14). During the past year, the group has also met in Vienna, Austria and Madrid, Spain to conduct its work.

Primarily designed as a "working" meeting, the October meeting was a chance for the various delegations to work together to edit the current draft of the ISO document. Issues which were discussed included: the nature of tests to which the ISO document would pertain, the presumptive necessity of individuals to become certified in the standard (a requirement which is probably country dependent), whether standard requirements can be imposed on non-professional clients, and the division of aspects of the standard as required (normative) or optional (informative). All participants generally agreed that the draft document is moving toward completion. Pending final editing, the document may be submitted for ISO approval after the next meeting of the group scheduled for March 2009 in Oslo, Norway.

In addition to diligently attending to their work during the two day meeting, members of the various delegations had a chance to enjoy each others' company, as well as a bit of American hospitality, during an evening reception held in the executive office suite at APA.