2009 APA Meritorious Research Service Commendations Awarded

These Board of Scientific Affairs awards recognize federal government and other employees' contributions to psychological science.

Two psychologists have been selected to receive Meritorious Research Service Commendations for 2009. These commendations, which are given by the Board of Scientific Affairs, recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to psychological science through their service as employees of the federal government or other organizations.

Psychologists at federal or non-federal research funding, regulatory or other agencies play a crucial role in the advancement of the discipline, through managing programs that fund psychological science, identifying new research opportunities and directions, formulating research policies, and promoting psychological research within their organizations. The Meritorious Research Service Commendations are a mechanism for honoring psychologists for their efforts and achievements in these areas.

The recipients for 2009 are:

Cheryl Boyce
National Institute on Drug Abuse; formerly National Institute of Mental Health

Dr. Cheryl Boyce is currently Chief, Behavioral and Brain Development Branch and Associate Director for Child and Adolescent Research in the Division of Clinical Neuroscience and Behavioral Research (DCNBR) at the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), National Institute of Health (NIH). Prior to this, she was employed at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). She is being honored for her leadership in developing research programs in early childhood mental health, trauma, and health disparities. She advanced the National Institute of Mental Health's research agenda in developmental psychopathology and child abuse and neglect, and she is a strong advocate for the advancement of new investigators, especially those from underrepresented groups.

Vivian Ota Wang
National Human Genome Research Institute

Dr. Vivian Ota Wang is Program Director in the Ethical, Legal, and Social Implications Research Program, Division of Extramural Research of the National Human Genome Research Institute, and she is an NIH Agency Representative to the National Nanotechnology Coordination Office of the National Science and Technology Council in the Executive Office of the President. She is being honored for developing opportunities for psychological scientists to participate in cutting-edge interdisciplinary research and policy development activities in genomics, nanotechnology, and ethics. She helped create a new NIH extramural social and behavioral sciences research portfolio on complex diseases and traits and behavioral and community research, and expanded the scope of support for gene-environment interaction research to include attention to psychosocial stress and social environments.

The recipients of the 2009 commendations will be honored at the December 2009 APA Board of Directors meeting.

Past recipients of the Meritorious Research Service Commendation were:

2008 Robert B. Huebner (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, NIH)
Jack D. Maser (University of California, San Diego)
Robert S. Ruskin (Consortium Research Fellows Program)
2007 Lula A. Beatty (National Institute on Drug Abuse, NIH)
2006 Vivian B. Faden (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, NIH)
Fred Stollnitz (National Science Foundation)
Betty Tai (National Institute on Drug Abuse, NIH)
2005 Susan F. Chipman (Office of Naval Research)
Mary Ellen Oliveri (National Institute of Mental Health, NIH)
Cora Lee Wetherington (National Institute on Drug Abuse, NIH)
Ellen Diane Witt (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, NIH)
2004 Ronald P. Abeles (Office of Behavioral and Social Science Research, NIH)
Israel I. Lederhendler (National Institute of Mental Health, NIH)
G. Reid Lyon (National Institutes of Child Health and Human Development, NIH)
Willo Pequegnat (National Institute of Mental Health, NIH)
Anita Miller Sostek (Center for Scientific Review, NIH)
2003 Steven J. Breckler (National Science Foundation)
Edgar M. Johnson (Army Research Institute)
Peter G. Kaufmann (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH)
Lisa S. Onken (National Institute on Drug Abuse, NIH)
Delores Parron (National Institutes of Health)
2002 Rodney Cocking (National Science Foundation) (awarded posthumously)
Robert Croyle (National Cancer Institute, NIH)
Sarah Friedman (National Institute of Child Health & Human Development, NIH)
David Shurtleff (National Institute on Drug Abuse, NIH)
Joseph Young (National Science Foundation)


A call for nominations for the 2010 awards will be made later this year. For additional information, please see: Call for Nominations: Meritorious Reseach Service Commendation