APA science boards and committees: 2011 members

Governance groups guide APA’s science activities and seek input from the broader psychological community.

The American Psychological Association has various governance groups that help guide APA’s policies and activities related to the advancement of psychological science.  The Board of Scientific Affairs (BSA), whose members are selected by the APA Council of Representatives, is concerned with all aspects of psychology as a science and serves as the primary advisory body for the APA Science Directorate.  Affiliated with BSA are four committees, each of which focuses on a specific area, and the Science Student Council, comprised of graduate students.

The 2011 memberships of these bodies are shown below.  Further information about each group’s mission can be found on its webpage.  Each group meets formally twice per year as well as interacts informally throughout the year.  All psychologists are encouraged to share their suggestions and questions about APA’s support of science with any members of these governance groups.

Board of Scientific Affairs (BSA)

Nora S. Newcombe, Chair
Temple University (2009-11)

Phillip L. Ackerman
Georgia Institute of Technology (2011-13)

Robert L. Balster
Virginia Commonwealth University (2009-11)

M. Lynne Cooper
University of Missouri (2010-12)

Robyn Fivush
Emory University (2010-12)

Kathleen Y. Haaland
University of New Mexico/VA Medical Center (2011-13)

Kenneth J. Sher
University of Missouri (2010-12)

Jalie A. Tucker
University of Alabama (2011-13)

Sheldon Zedeck
University of California at Berkeley (2010-11)

Committee on Animal Research and Ethics (CARE)

Pamela Scott-Johnson, Chair
Morgan State University (2010-12)

Gary L. Dunbar
Central Michigan University (2011-13)

Jennifer J. Higa
University of Hawaii - Honolulu Community College (2010-12)

Barbara J. Kaminski
Johns Hopkins University (2009-11)

Scott R. Robinson
University of Iowa (2009-11)

Rodney A. Swain
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (2011-13)

Committee on Human Research (CHR)

Thomas E. Eissenberg, Chair
Virginia Commonwealth University (2010-12)

Daniel C. Marson, Chair-Elect
University of Alabama at Birmingham (2010-12)

Miriam F. Kelty 
Bethesda, MD (2010-12)

Vivian Ota Wang 
Rockville, MD (2010-12)

Barbara H. Stanley 
Columbia University (2010-12)

Mieke H. Verfaellie
Boston VA Medical Center (2010-12)

Frank Y. Wong
Emory University (2010-12)

Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA)

Beverly Vandiver, Chair
Pennsylvania State University (2009-11)

Marcia M. Andberg
Marcia Andberg Associates, LLC (2010-12)

Richard I. Frederick 
 U.S. Medical Center for Federal Prisoners (2011-13)

Robert Heaton
University of California at San Diego (2009-11)

Jerry Kehoe
Selection & Assessment Consulting, LLC (2009-11)

Michael J. Kolen
University of Iowa (2010-12)

Bernice Marcopulos
University of Virginia Health Science Center (2010-12)

Samuel O. Ortiz
St. Johns University (2011-13)

Amy Elizabeth Schmidt 
 ETS (2011-13)

Committee on Scientific Awards (COSA)

Marvin Chun, Chair
Yale University (2009-11)

Susan Fiske
Princeton University (2011-13)

Jill Hooley
Harvard University (2010-12)

David Lubinski
Vanderbilt University (2010-11)

Steven Maier
University of Colorado (2011-13)

Robert Siegler
Carnegie Mellon University (2010-12)

APA Science Student Council (APASSC)

Gabriel Lázaro-Muñoz, Chair
University of Pennsylvania (2009-2011)

Hallie Bregman
University of Miami (2010-2012)

Azurii Collier 
Northwestern University (2009-2011)

Michael Dunbar 
University of Pittsburgh (2010-2012)

Nisha Gottfredson 
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2009-2011)

David Kille 
University of Waterloo (2010-2012)

Tara Queen 
North Carolina State University (2009-2011)

Natale Sciolino 
The University of Georgia (2010-2012)

Winny Shen
University of Minnesota (2009-2011)