Students win 2012 APF/COGDOP Graduate Research Scholarships

Awards provide research funds to promising students in psychological science.

The American Psychological Foundation (APF) and the Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology (COGDOP) have jointly offered Graduate Research Scholarships to doctoral students since 1996. The scholarships, administered by the American Psychological Association’s Science Directorate, are intended to assist graduate students whose research reflects excellence in scientific psychology with funding to support this research.

The program offered a total of fifteen awards this year, including the:

  • Harry and Miriam Levinson Scholarship ($5,000).

  • William and Dorothy Bevan Scholarship ($5,000).

  • Ruth G. and Joseph D. Matarazzo Scholarship ($3,000).

  • Friedman-Klarreich Family Foundation Scholarship ($3,000).

  • Clarence J. Rosecrans Scholarship ($2,000).

  • Peter and Malina James & Dr. Louis P. James Legacy Scholarship ($1,000).

In addition to these six awards, the APF provides nine $1,000 scholarships per year. This year, over 120 applications were received, and each was reviewed by a committee of COGDOP members using a variety of criteria, including the significance of the research and the clarity and design of the proposal itself.

The following fifteen graduate students received these awards:

  • Amanda C. Venta (University of Houston) received the $5,000 Harry and Miriam Levinson Scholarship for her proposal “The Effect of Oxytocin on Trust Between Parents and Adolescents.” Using a neuroeconomic task with which she has significant experience in the lab, she plans to use an oxytocin nasal spray to test her hypothesis that increased oxytocin levels will increase trust behavior between adolescents and their parents.

  • Erin K. Moran (University of California, Berkeley) was awarded the $5,000 William and Dorothy Bevan Scholarship for her proposal “The Time Course of Emotion in Schizophrenia.” Her study will extend investigation of the anticipation and in-the-moment experience of emotion of those with and without schizophrenia and will use psychophysiological and behavioral assessment to examine the relationship between potential anticipatory deficits in schizophrenia and memory deficits.

  • Timothy J. Jarome (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee) received the $3,000 Ruth G. and Joseph D. Matarazzo Scholarship for his proposal “The Role of PKA/CaMKII-protein degradation-GluR2 Pathway in Control of Memory Updating.” Building programmatically on existing literature, the project is designed to test a specific molecular pathway that may be important for the modification of fear memories following short retrieval or reminder sessions.

  • Erin F. Ward-Ciesielski (University of Washington) received the $3,000 Friedman-Klarreich Family Foundation Scholarship for her project that aims to launch the development of interventions to reduce suicide risk among individuals not currently undergoing mental health treatment. She will conduct a randomized controlled trial of a brief Dialectical Behavior Therapy skills training intervention.

  • Stephanie M. Groman (University of California, Los Angeles) was awarded the $2,000 Clarence J. Rosecrans Scholarship. Her project entitled “Mechanistic Insight into the Relationship Between Cognitive Control and the Dopamine D2-like Receptor System” consists of a series of experiments focused on providing a bridge between in vivo and in vitro assessments of dopamine receptors in order to produce a framework for understanding and interpreting PET-based results concerning receptors.

  • Justin E. Karr (University of Victoria) was awarded the $1,000 Peter and Malina James & Dr. Louis P. James Legacy Scholarship for his proposed study on “Executive Functioning and Intra-Individual Variability after Mild Traumatic Brain Injury: The Role of Physical Fitness in Neuropsychological Recovery.”

The recipients of the $1,000 APF/COGDOP Graduate Research Scholarships in Psychology are:

  • Lisham Ashrafioun (Bowling Green State University) – “Craving, Prescription Opioids, and Chronic Pain.”

  • Emily J. Cogsdill (Harvard University) – “The Development of Face-Based Trait Impressions.”

  • Shayna L. Henry (University of California, Irvine) – “Working for the Weekend: The Effect of Cognitive Functioning, Social Support, and the Interdialytic Interval on Disease Self-Management Among Patients on Hemodialysis.”

  • Daniel C. Kopala-Sibley (McGill University) – “Why Do Some Adolescents Develop Mental Disorders While Others Do Not? The Development of Personality Risk Factors for Psychopathology.”

  • Lauren E. Margulieux (Georgia Institute of Technology) – “Subgoal-Oriented Instructional Text and Worked Examples in STEM Education.”

  • Kelly E. McWilliams (University of California, Davis) – Research that examines the association among parent-child discussion style, interviewer bias and children’s true and false reports of a staged event.

  • John D. Medaglia (The Pennsylvania State University) – “The Cerebellum as a Latent Support Mechanism in Traumatic Brain Injury.”

  • Lauren L. Richmond (Temple University) – A project that will study whether transcranial direct current stimulation can enhance working memory.

  • Darya L. Zabelina (Northwestern University) – “Neural and Genetic Bases of Creativity: Shared Vulnerability Factors of Creativity and Psychopathology, and Various Protective Factors.”