APA Science boards and committees: 2014 members

These scientists help shape APA's policies and programs.

The American Psychological Association has various governance groups that help guide its policies and activities related to the advancement of psychological science. The Board of Scientific Affairs (BSA), whose members are selected by the APA Council of Representatives, is concerned with all aspects of psychology as a science and serves as the primary advisory body for the APA Science Directorate. Affiliated with BSA are four committees, each of which focuses on a specific area, and the Science Student Council, composed of graduate students.

The 2014 memberships of these bodies are shown below. Further information about each group's mission can be found on its Web page. Most groups meet formally twice per year and all interact informally throughout the year. All psychologists are encouraged to share their suggestions and questions about APA's support of science with any members of these governance groups.

Board of Scientific Affairs (BSA)

Leah L. Light, Pitzer College (2012-14), chair
Geraldine Downey, Columbia University (2013-15)
Martin Y. Iguchi, Georgetown University (2012-14)
Robert W. Proctor, Purdue University (2014-16)
Saul Shiffman, University of Pittsburgh (2013-15)
Linda P. Spear, Binghamton University (2014-16)
Bonnie J. Spring, Northwestern University (2014-16)
Frank C. Worrell, University of California, Berkeley (2013-15)
Sheldon Zedeck, University of California, Berkeley (retired) (2012-14)

Committee on Scientific Awards (COSA) 

Robert A. Bjork, UCLA (2012-14), chair
Susan Goldin-Meadow, University of Chicago (2013-15)
James Grau, Texas A&M University (2014-16)
Gary P. Latham, University of Toronto (2012-14)
Hazel R. Markus, Stanford University (2014-16)
Scott M. Monroe, University of Notre Dame (2013-15)

Committee on Animal Research and Ethics (CARE) 

Allyson Bennett, Wake Forest University (2012-14), chair
John Capitanio, University of California, Davis (2014-16)
Marilyn E. Carroll, University of Minnesota (2012-14)
Kenneth J. Leising, Texas Christian University (2013-15)
Wendy J. Lynch, University of Virginia (2013-15)
Mark Reilly, Central Michigan University (2014-16)

Committee on Human Research (CHR) 

Janine M. Jennings, Wake Forest University (2013-15), chair
James DuBois, Saint Louis University (2013-15)
Cheryl A. King, University of Michigan (2013-15)
Barton Palmer, University of California, San Diego (2014-16)
Michael W. Ross, University of Texas, Houston (2014-16)
Barbara H. Stanley, Columbia University (2010-14)
Vivian Ota Wang, Bethesda, Md. (2010-14)

Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA)

Nancy T. Tippins, Valtera Corporation (2012-14), chair
Charlene Alexander, Ball State University (2012-14)
Winfred E. Arthur, Jr., Texas A&M University (2013-15)
Yossef Ben-Porath, Kent State University (2014-16)
Desiree Byrd, Mount Sinai School of Medicine (2013-15)
Robyn Hess, University of Northern Colorado (2014-16)
Marc A. Norman, University of California, San Diego (2012-14)
Thanos Patelis, College Board (2014-16)
Abigail T. Panter, University of North Carolina (2013-15)

APA Science Student Council (APASSC)

Casey Calhoun, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (2012-14), chair
Richard Chambers, II, Louisiana Tech University (2013-15)
Corbin A. Cunningham, Johns Hopkins University (2013-15)
Jason Fuchs, University of Vermont (2012-2014)
Allison E. Gaffey, University of Notre Dame (2013-15)
Joseph Gonzales, University of California, Davis (2013-15)
Patty X. Kuo, University of Michigan (2013-15)
Elizabeth Necka, University of Chicago (2012-14)
Noreen Watson, Texas Tech University (2012-14)