APA awards

Lisa Feldman Barrett and Frederick Leong receive APA Distinguished Service Awards

The Board of Scientific Affairs of the American Psychological Association has selected psychologists Lisa Feldman Barrett of Northeastern University and Frederick T.L. Leong of Michigan State University as recipients of the 2013 Award for Distinguished Service to Psychological Science.

This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to psychological science through their commitment to a culture of service. Such service may include participating on boards and committees of psychological associations, editing journals, reviewing grant proposals, mentoring students and colleagues, advocating for psychological science with state and federal lawmakers and promoting the value of psychological science to the public.

The citations for each of the 2013 awards are shown below.

Lisa Feldman Barrett — Northeastern University, Boston

Lisa Feldman Barrett“For her record of extraordinary service and leadership in psychological science. Lisa Feldman Barrett's service to psychology has been broad and significant. Her contributions include serving as editor of Emotion Review and on the editorial boards of many of the leading journals in psychology. She has served on review panels and participated in workshops and expert meetings of the National Institutes of Health and the National Academy of Sciences, demonstrating her ability to integrate emerging conceptual frameworks across multiple domains of psychological science. She has served on the governing bodies of the Association for Psychological Science and the International Society for Research on Emotion. As a member of the Boston Museum of Science's advisory board, Dr. Barrett has been instrumental in expanding coverage of psychological science in the Museum's programming. Her co-founding (with Dr. James Gross) of the Society for Affective Science has advanced the field of emotion research in particular and psychological science more broadly.”

Frederick T.L. Leong — Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.

Frederick T.L. Leong “For his record of extraordinary service and leadership in psychological science. Frederick T.L. Leong's service to psychology has been broad and significant. His contributions include serving as editor of the Asian American Journal of Psychology, as series editor of the APA Division 45 book series on Cultural, Racial, and Ethnic Psychology and on editorial boards of many of the leading journals in psychology. He has served on multiple university committees as well as held leadership positions in professional societies, including as president of the Asian American Psychological Association. He has been an active member of many APA and international psychological boards, committees, and task forces. He has an exceptional record of teaching and mentoring students from the U.S. and abroad. Dr. Leong's service to the discipline has helped to bring the best of psychological science to bear on multicultural and ethnic minority research.”

2014 Nominations

Nominations for the 2014 Culture of Service awards are being accepted now until April 1, 2014. For additional information, see the Distinguished Service Award and Departmental Award Web pages. Individual awardees receive an honorarium of $1000. Departmental awardees receive $5,000 to be used to support departmental activities. 

Winners are selected by the APA Board of Scientific Affairs. (BSA members who have close connections with individual or department nominees do not participate in the selection process.)