Committee on Scientific Awards

The Committee on Scientific Awards (COSA) administers APA's scientific awards for outstanding contributions to scientific psychology. The committee, on behalf of APA, also submits nominations of prominent psychologists for awards bestowed by other scientific organizations.

The APA Awards Committee selects recipients for the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, the Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Psychology and the Distinguished Scientific Awards for Early Career Contributions to Psychology.

Nominations are solicited each year through a general call for nominations published in the American Psychologist, the APA Monitor and the Science Directorate's Psychological Science Agenda. The deadline is June 1 each year.

Staff Liaison

Suzanne Wandersman (email)


  • 2014 Chair: Robert A. Bjork (2012-14)
    University of California, Los Angeles

  • Susan Goldin-Meadow (2013-15)
    University of Chicago

  • James Grau (2014-16)
    Texas A&M University

  • Gary P. Latham (2012-14)
    University of Toronto

  • Hazel R. Markus (2014-16)
    Stanford University

  • Scott M. Monroe (2013-15)
    University of Notre Dame

Additional Information