Designation Committee for Postdoctoral Education and Training Programs in Psychopharmacology for Prescriptive Authority

As a response to advances that have occurred in psychopharmacology education and training and prescriptive authority legislation in recent years, the APA has established a process to designate postdoctoral education and training programs in psychopharmacology.

This committee is composed of six members and is responsible for oversight and implementation of the designation system for psychopharmacology education and training programs. The purpose of designation is to afford public recognition of education and training programs that meet certain minimum standards and published criteria, which are set forth in Designation Criteria for Postdoctoral Education and Training Programs in Psychopharmacology for Prescriptive Authority (PDF, 62KB), approved by the APA Council of Representatives in August 2009.

The next meeting of the RxP Designation Committee will be held Oct. 23-24, 2015.

The process of designation is voluntary, to be initiated by the program seeking designation and shall be governed by policies and procedures (PDF, 32KB).

Interested programs may submit applications, which will be considered by the RxP Designation Committee at its fall 2015 meeting. Applications must be received by May 4, 2015.

Applications must be submitted electronically; a single PDF file that is searchable and has bookmarks is preferred.

For more information, please contact Ashi Kapur Lavelle.

Staff Liaisons


  • 2015 Chair: Alice M.Young, PhD (2013-15)

  • Thomas J. Brady, MD, MBA (2015-17)

  • Marlin C. Hoover, PhD, MS, ABPP-CL (2013-15)

  • Neal R. Morris, EdD, MS (2014-16)

  • Maxine L. Stitzer, PhD (2015-17)

  • Steven R. Tulkin, PhD (2014-16)

Call for Nominations

APA's Board of Education Affairs (BEA) and the Board of Professional Affairs (BPA) are seeking nominations to fill two seats on the RxP Designation Committee. Each appointment will serve a three-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2016. Committee members shall meet in-person once a year in the fall at APA headquarters and may work, as needed, throughout the year via email and conference calls.

We welcome nominations of individuals who have expertise in any of the following domains:

  • Psychopharmacology postdoctoral program directors.
  • Basic psychopharmacology science or clinical psychopharmacology research.
  • Prescriptive authority in psychology.
  • Prescriptive authority in another health care profession.
  • Health care system quality assurance.

Other areas of interest are developmental psychopharmacology and ethnic/cultural factors that can influence psychopharmacological decision-making. One committee member slot is designated for a public member; while the remaining five member slots are comprised of psychologists who are APA members. The committee especially welcomes early career psychologists (psychologists who are within 10 years of the receipt of their doctoral degree) who otherwise meet the categories noted above. Appointments to the committee are made jointly by BEA and BPA, and confirmed by the APA Board of Directors. Those appointed to the committee will be notified in writing.

Nominees, if appointed, agree to dedicate the time necessary to fulfill their responsibility to the committee including but not limited to work between meetings, reviewing documents and applications, responding to requests from APA staff in a timely manner, and attendance at all meetings.

Candidate Submission Materials
  • Letter indicating his or her willingness to serve if selected.
  • 75-word description of qualifications as relates to the areas of expertise noted above.
  • If applicable, indication that they qualify as an early career psychologist (ECP), as defined above.
  • Current curriculum vita.

The deadline for all nominations is Sept. 10, 2015. If you are interested in serving on the committee, or know of someone else who would be qualified for this position, please send nominations, along with the above-described information, to Ashi Kapur Lavelle. Please note that nominators of other individuals are responsible for ensuring that these materials are submitted.

Policies, Procedures and Other Resources

Annual Reports