Americans with Disabilities Act Information

On July 26, 1990, President George Bush signed into law The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990. This law gives civil rights protection to individuals with disabilities, similar to that provided to individuals on the basis of race, sex, national origin and religion. The ADA guarantees equal opportunity for individuals with disabilities in the areas of employment, state and local government services, public transportation, privately operated transportation available to the public, places of public accommodation and services operated by private entities, and telephone services offered to the general public. Many regard the ADA as the most sweeping piece of civil rights legislation since the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

Department of Justice

The United State Department of Justice (DOJ) is the primary enforcing entity for Civil Rights discrimination under the Americans with Disabilities Act. The DOJ enforces the ADA's requirements in three areas:

  • Title I: Employment practices by units of State and local government
  • Title II: Programs, services, and activities of State and local government
  • Title III: Public accommodations and commercial facilities (private sector)

The DOJ publishes quarterly reports of its enforcement activities which include:

  • ADA Litigation
  • Formal Settlement Agreements
  • Other Settlements, and
  • Mediation

The Department's ADA enforcement activities and a wealth of related information can be found on the DOJ's ADA home page.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces Title I provisions prohibiting discrimination in employment against qualified individuals with disabilities. The EEOC investigates complaints filed by job applicants or employees who believe they have been discriminated against under the ADA. The EEOC Web site has a section on EEOC enforcement activities, guidances, and regulations.

Additional Resources

APA Publications