2010 CLGBTC Annual Report

Submitted by Constance R. Matthews, PhD, Chair, CLGBTC

2010 Members: Constance R. Matthews, PhD, Chair (2008-2010); Marvin R. Goldfried, PhD (2008-2010); Michael Mobley, PhD, Chair-elect (2009-2011); Vic Muñoz, EdD (2009-2011); Ellyn Kaschak, PhD (2010-2012); Kevin Nadal PhD (2010-2012).

Members to begin their term of office on January 1, 2011 are: Angela Ferguson, PhD (2011-2013) and Parrish Paul, PhD, HSP (2011-2013).

Diversity Report

Currently the committee consists of two members who identify as lesbians, two members who identify as gay men, one member who identifies as a heterosexual man, and one member who identifies as transgender and queer. Two of the members are senior psychologists, three members are mid-career psychologists, and one member is an early career psychologist. Three members are European American, one member identifies as African American, one member identifies as Puerto Rican, and one member identifies as Filipino.

2009 CLGBTC Outstanding Achievement Award

Outstanding Achievement Awards were presented to Judith M. Glassgold, PsyD, and Jane M. Simoni, PhD.

2010 Convention Activities

CLGBTC presented a two-hour symposium at the 2010 APA conventionin San Diego, CA, in celebration of the committee’s 30th Anniversary. The symposium, "Intersectionalities and the Future of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health and Well Being," was chaired by CLGBTC chair, Dr. Connie Matthews, with committee member Muñoz serving as Discussant. Committee member Mobley was a presenter, along with former committee members and other scholars specializing in LGBT psychology. The theme of intersectionalities in this symposium brought into focus the past, present, and future of LGBT psychologies within the context of race, ethnicity, class, gender and sexuality as critically important to understanding best practices in relation to healthcare for LGBT people of color and Indigenous LGBT people today.

During the 2010 convention, CLGBTC also celebrated its 30th Anniversary with a reception jointly sponsored by APA Division 44. Current and former committee members were recognized, as were current and former winners of the CLGBTC Outstanding Achievement Award.

CLGBTC as a committee and members individually were also active in helping APA President Dr. Carol Goodheart to ensure a positive experience for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender members of APA and their allies during what had the potential to be a contentious convention due to the controversy around APA’s use of the Manchester Grand Hyatt Hotel. At its Fall 2010 meeting, the committee recognized Goodheart for her leadership during a difficult process and for the attention she gave to addressing LGBT issues prominently and affirmatively throughout the convention.

Strategic Planning

CLGBTC participated in the APA Strategic Planning process that occurred during the Spring 2010 Consolidated Meetings. CLGBTC also conducted its own planning during the Spring 2010 meeting, setting priorities for the Committee and determining the areas that individual members wanted to focus on.

Practice Guidelines for Working with LGBT Clients

CLGBTC continued to support the group working to revise the Guidelines for Psychological Practice with Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Clients. The revised Guidelines are expected to go before APA Council of Representatives early in 2011.

CLGBTC also decided to move forward toward work on the development of practice guidelines for working with transgender and gender variant clients. To that end, CLGBTC reached out to Division 44, Society for the Psychological Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Issues, to request that a small planning group be established to determine criteria for leadership and membership of a working group to develop these practice guidelines. Division 44 has agreed to this. Matthews and Michael Mobley will represent CLGBTC.

Work with LGBT Youth

CLGBTC continued to work with and support the Healthy Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Students Project in the APA Office for LGBT Concerns. In addition, Mobley and Dr. Kevin Nadal have been developing a project to work with Ethnic Minority LGBT youth.

Education and Training

CLGBTC considered and approved a content analysis of the responses to the questions about barriers/obstacles and APA actions from the 2009 survey Graduate Faculty in Psychology Interested in Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Issues, provided by LGBTCO intern Stephanie Liotta based on the one done for the 2005 survey by former CLGBTC member Bianca Murphy. The Committee approved the distribution of content analysis to the Board of Educational Affairs (through the Board for the Advancement of Psychology in the Public Interest), the Commission on Accreditation, the Division 44 Education and Training Committee, and to other APA divisions with a significant interest in LGBT concerns, if they have an education and training committee.

CLGBTC and the APA Office of LGBT Concerns worked with state initiatives in Michigan, Nebraska, and Pennsylvania to ensure access to and availability of competent, effective psychological services for LGBT people in those states.

CLGBTC forwarded to the APA Ethics Committee through the APA Ethics Office concerns about a directive sent by the Congregation for Catholic Education, Guidelines for the Use of Psychology in the Administration and Formation of Candidates for Priesthood.

Science Initiative

In ongoing efforts to encourage and support collection of data regarding sexual orientation and/or gender identity in large national studies, CLGBTC met with Dr. Steven Breckler, Executive Director of APA Science Directorate, and Dr. Jon Mohr, Chair of Division 44 Science Committee, to strategize approaches for collecting such data.