The APA has identified rural health as a priority and has developed an APA Committee on Rural Health (CRH), which resides in the Practice Directorate. The objective of CRH is to ensure that the behavioral healthcare needs of rural and frontier Americans are met. Through the establishment of CRH, the APA has committed resources to addressing the behavioral healthcare needs of individuals residing in rural and frontier areas.

Staff Liaisons


  • 2015 Chair: Jane Hamel-Lambert, PhD, MBA (2013-15)
    Appalachian Rural Health Institute, Department of Family Medicine │Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine

  • Tracy J. Cohn, PhD (2013-15)

  • Iva GreyWolf, PhD (2014-16)

  • Jameson K. Hirsch, PhD (2014-16)

  • Teresa D. LaFromboise, PhD (2015-17)

  • Mike Rosmann, PhD (2013-15)

  • Emily Selby-Nelson, PhD (2015-17)

  • Teri L. Strong, PhD (2014-16)

Additional Information