The charge of the Committee on Human Research is:

  1. To facilitate the conduct of and training in scientifically and ethically responsible research involving humans, and establish and maintain cooperative relations with organizations sharing common interests.

  2. To examine issues related to the ethics of and regulatory requirements for research involving humans and disseminate accurate information about such research.

  3. To develop and disseminate guidelines for protecting the rights and welfare of humans involved in research, and consult on the implementation of these guidelines.

The committee consists of seven members elected by the Board of Scientific Affairs. Each year, two members are elected for a term of three years; the seventh member is elected from a slate developed jointly by the Board of Scientific Affairs and the Ethics Committee, and also serves a term of three years.

Staff Liaison

Sangeeta Panicker, PhD (email)


  • 2015 Chair: Janine M. Jennings (2013-15)
    Wake Forest University
  • James DuBois (2013-15)
    Washington University in St. Louis
  • John C. Gibbs (2015-17)
    Ohio State University
  • Cheryl A. King (2013-15)
    University of Michigan 
  • Barton Palmer (2014-16)
    University of California, San Diego
  • Michael W. Ross (2014-16)
    University of Minnesota
  • Timothy Trull (2015-17)
    University of Missouri

CHR Statements and Commentaries